HW-calibrated display, color profiles and darktable workflow

Hi all,

I’m quite new to color profiling/calibrating and related workflows thus I hope you could help me out a bit.

My setup is:

1. Wide gamut Dell monitor: UP2720Q. This monitor provides a self-calibration feature with a built-in colorimeter. This works well and no extra HW or SW is needed, however neither on Linux nor Mac there is a way to download the ICC profile after calibration. And no windows here, no…
  2. Thinkpad with Intel UHD 620 graphics
  3. Xfce4 (Xorg) on top of xubuntu 21.10
  4. darktable 3.8.1
  5. I use geequie for first selection and final examination of my pictures

As the monitor supports AdobeRGB color profile internally but I don’t have and cannot create dedicated ICC profiles I installed in Xfce’s color manager following profiles:

• Dell Default created by argyll using monitors EDID information. I don’t even have a clue if this is based on AdobeRGB, sRGB or even other color space.
  • AdobeRGB (1998) provided by ‘icc-profiles-free’
  • sRGB from ‘icc-profiles-free’ as well

In darktable I set the ‘display-profile’ to AdobeRGB in lighttable and and select AdobeRGB in ‘output color profile’ for every image I edit in darkroom.
For the export I make sure they are exported to jpegs using sRGB profile.

Now my workflow usually looks like this:

• I have to go into the monitor settings, switch color space to AdobeRGB,
  • edit my pictures making sure all output profiles are set to AdobeRGB as well.
  • Then export them to sRGB,
  • switch my monitor (fiddling int the settings) back again to sRGB
  • check if all exported jpegs are still to my taste (geequie).

Is this the way you do it as well, or am I over-complicating this?