I can't open any photos to work on

I just downloaded and started the latest version of RAW Therapee. Obviously, the first thing to do is open the file Browser and navigate to a photo. I keep photos on my Desktop and in an external Drive called “Photos”. I am able to navigate to both these places but if i click on them (or double click on them) all that happens is the name highlights in white and/or the little arrow disappears. I would like to try RAW Therapee out but I can’t if I can’t open any photos. What am I doing wrong? Obviously, I am off to a poor start. :-(((
Thanks for any guidance!
Endre

Double click on the folder first, then try to open a file. Please let us know.

I’ve done that. I double click all the folders. If i click on them once, they highlight white. If I double click or right click they turn white and the little arrow on the left disappears. I can then click that same one over and over and the little arrow never returns. It’s very weird. I am a photographer so I am quite familiar with how one can navigate around Lightroom or Photoshop. RAW Therapee ought to work similarly but I tried everything I could think of before I wrote the help request above. Thanks for your response.

It does when you double click another folder, close the program and then re-open it. I think it’s just letting you know the last folder you looked at amongst perhaps other things.