I made a small python script for dealing with CR3 files. (dnglab + hdrmerge)

Hello everyone !
It’s only recently that I discovered HDRMerge and I love :

• the batch mode
  • normal size 16bit HDR files
  • the GUI to handle ghosts.

But I use Canon cameras with CR3 files. That is why I made myself a little python script (nothing fancy, I’m a total beginner in python) to handle things with some automation.

It works this way :

• I put the CR3 files paths that I want to exploit in a txt file (easy for to grab them with doublecommander).
  • the txt file is red to grab the CR3 files and dnglab convert them files to DNG
  • DNG files are fed to hdrmerge batchmode. HdrMerge Parameters can easily be changed in the script.
  • at the end of the script, there is the possibility to delete the DNG files (not the HDR ones of course).
    dnglab_hdrmerge.py (2.8 KB)
5 Likes

Hi, @yopyop95, and welcome to the forum!

Great stuff! I’m not a Canon shooter myself, but I daresay there are many that will find your script very useful. Thanks for sharing! :+1:

Thanks for your kind words. :slight_smile:

I should add that this is a script for linux users. For windows, I guess that the direct paths to dnglab.exe and hdrmerge.exe should be used.

1 Like

Hello everyone,

I made a new version of my script to handle easily the creation of HDR files with HDRmerge from Canon CR3 files.
Now, at the beginning of the script you can chosse between two options :

• F option (File) : reading from a txt file that contains the CR3 files full paths that you want to work with

• T option (Time) :
    - a) the script detects the directories that are new or that have seen some activities (files modified or new ones created inside of it)
    - b) after choosing the directory you want to work with, the script will detect only the new CR3 files that are inside and feed them to DNGlab and then HDRMerge in batch mode.

Parameters that have to be set in the script :