I would like to contribute as Software Engineer, please let me know how can I assist

Hello,

First of all, thank you for providing Siril as open source software and I really like it and have been using it recently on Mac.

I am a Software Engineer with 15+ years of experience largely in Java, Kotlin. I am familiar with CI/CD, Docker, GitLab, Automation etc.I am also an amateur Astrophotographer mainly focused on Stock DSLR imaging.

I am not very experienced at C/C++ but I would really like to contribute. I tried going through open issues but it is currently overwhelming for me. I do not mind doing any simple tasks which you guys would like to do but not getting time or something which is very mundane for you but needs to be done. I do not mind adding unit tests or any other kinds of tests but I am not a domain expert.

I am willing to learn new things, please let me know if you need any assistance.

Thank you.

Hi, thanks for thinking about contributing to the project!
We are finalizing the 1.0 version, so the list of remaining developments for it is quite small, it’s mostly troubleshooting. If you don’t find things easy to do for this version, maybe you can have a look at what’s planned for next versions or help with the testing and debugging for example. Writing unit tests would be nice but it’s not particularly easy, we haven’t defined which area should be tested in priority. You may also suggest new things that you would like to see in Siril and develop them on your side then create a pull request to discuss its integration. I suggest you do what you prefer of course, it should be fun to do and useful or it’s not worth it.
Getting in the source code takes a bit of time because it’s very monolithic data structure (src/core/siril.h is the entry point). A new developer joined the team this year, and she didn’t know the language either, so it is possible :slight_smile:

Hello.

Thanks for your message. Very nice.
As you are a MacOS user I may have an idea.