ICC profiles and standard illuminants (scanner profiling)

Hi,
I am new to scanner profiling and I need some clarification.
I want to profile my scanner in order to use it as a “poor man’s” colorimeter. I’ve got an IT8.7/2 chart and I generated an ICC profile with VueScan (I also tried CoCa/Argyll). My aim is to apply my ICC profile to my scans assuring a D65 white point. I know IT8.7/2 targets use D50 white points. Does this mean that ICC profiles generated will also be in D50? How can I get my scans standardized in D65? The information of my current ICC profile is attached in the image below. If the “Media White Point” is very close to D65, does this mean that by applying this profile to my scans the color will be based on D65?
Hope I can get some help here!
Thanks!
Lee

Other folk here know more about the topic than I do, but I’ll attempt an answer.

To use a scanner as a poor man’s colorimeter implies that you want to put samples in your scanner and get XYZ values of those samples.

For that to work, you need to profile your scanner, with whatever light source your scanner uses. (This is probably a horrible LED non-black-body light, but I’ll ignore that problem.)

Stick a calibrated 24-colour chart or similar into your scanner, use software to find the best transformation that generates the expected XYZ values, and save the ICC profile in a file. This is now the “input profile” for subsequent scans. Job done.

Your scanner light might approximate D50 or D65 or something else, but that doesn’t matter. The profile won’t necessarily be D50 or D65 or anything other than “your scanner’s light”.

As I say, that’s my best guess. I’m happy for it to be shot down.

I guess I got this done and got the output profile indicated above. By applying this profile to the raw IT8.7/2 target scan and measuring the color of each patch and comparing it to expected values under D50 (it8 file provided by manufacturer) I got a Delta2000 of under 5, which is fairly good.