Image luminosity

Hi,

I am brand new to GIMP and am trying to statistically match 2 picture sets on brightness, contrast, and luminosity for a psychology research study. I’ve done a ton of online searching and figured out how to find values for brightness and contrast. Using the histogram, I used the mean of the “Value” channel to determine each picture’s brightness, and the standard deviation of the “RGB” channel to identify contrast.

However, I am at a standstill for extracting values for each image’s luminosity. Please let me know if you’re aware of how I may go about this. I know spatial frequency can be used, but am unable to locate the value for each image in GIMP.

Thanks!
Will

GIMP’s “Value” channel actually just takes the maximum of the R, G, and B channel values. So whatever you might mean by “brightness”, it’s not likely to have any psychologically straightforwardly meaningful relationship to GIMP’s “Value” channel. Another potential problem with this metric is that the maximum of R, G, and B do vary depending on what color space the pictures are in when you check the histogram, and will vary depending on the color space primaries and tone response curve

Regarding the standard deviation of the RGB channels as a measure of whatever you mean by “contrast”, this also depends on the color space’s primaries and tone response curve.

“Luminosity” is an ambiguous term. You might mean “relative luminance”. If you download an appimage for GIMP-2.9.8, the histogram provides information on relative luminance. But then you’ll have to decide if you want to use the “linear histogram” or the “perceptually uniform (meaning the sRGB TRC encoding) histogram”.

“Brightness” is also ambiguous unless you specify some sort of framework, such as CIECAM02 with its measures of brightness and lightness.