import images from Lumix DC-FZ10002 (cable-USB, Windows 11)

I am new to digital photography, to my LUMIX FZ-10002 and to Darktable.
I am trying to import images from my camera to DT, using an USB cable, unsuccessfully.

I can’t see my camera anywhere in DT after connecting the USB cable. It is recognized and mounted as an USB device; I unmount (eject) it but nothing happens in DT. I can’t see the “Scan for devices” button, either.

May I please have any hint on how to proceed?

I already imported images using PhotfunStudio (a Panasonic free utility), and noticed that each group of Focus Bracketed pictures were stored in a specific folder (which is great), although exposure bracketed pictures weren’t (which is not so great). So, can I expect DT to store bracketed pictures together, any sort of it (exposure, focus, aperture, wb)?

thanks

Hi and welcome!

Your camera needs to be supporter by gphoto2, which it is not: gPhoto - Projects :: libgphoto2 :: supported cameras so that feature isn’t going to work.

Take the memory card out of the camera and use a USB reader, then you should be able to use “copy and import” from the lighttable view.

No.

Welcome @amc .
As a fellow Lumix user and also newer photo hobbyist I’d like to say hello.
It might be preferable to import only the photos you’d like to process/edit in darktable to the DT library.
I take lots of photos of photos, enthusiastically, and I’ve found that I only want to make some of them better in DT. So I import them all to a folder on my hard drive, and only import the ones that I think would be good to edit.
Bruce Williams has a great YouTube video on photo file storage, I’ll see if I can get the link to post up here later today.

Here’s one of them : https://youtu.be/Yhnrrn4Mv-w?si=0AeWcK3_kc3fv3RE