Initial workflow lua script

I’m having a hard time installing this script on Windows. I’ve never done anything with Lua before. It seems I have to manually create a Lua folder in appdata/Local/darktable, but then I’m stuck at this step in the instructions:

Require this script from your luarc file. To do this, add the path of this file to .config/darktable/luarc: require “examples/InitialWorkflowModule”

No idea what that means…

Many moons ago I set this up…

I think you need git on your system…

But if I recall I just installed them from the script manager

My folder looks like this…

I just copied the initial workflow script into the contrib directory and then started it from the script manager …

Instructions here

https://docs.darktable.org/lua/stable/lua.scripts.manual/installation/

Originally I had to

After that then I think if the script manager is in the luarc file you can do everything from there…

Sorry to be brief… 2 AM my time… falling asleep and heading to bed… I’ll check in tomorrow …

EDIT…I don’t use appdata… I redirect to a folder call DT_config… its just easier to find and manage and if I have more versions running I just create DT_config2 etc…

2 Likes

Thanks Todd, I’ll take a look after work today to see if I can figure it out.

Cannot one install the script via the script manager?

additional repositories of scripts may be installed from the install/update action.
(darktable lua documentation - script_manager)

The link to the repo was shared above.

Edit: yes, it works. Use GitHub - UliGesing/Darktable-Initial-Workflow-Module: This script extends darktable. It offers a new "inital workflow" module both in lighttable and darkroom view. It can be used to do some configuration for an initial image workflow. for the URL, and provide a category name with no funny characters:

You’ll then be able to start it as any other: