Is there a good way to export a photo from darktable to Nik Collection?

I am just starting to re-use DarkTable, v3.0, on MacBook Pro running Catalina. Is there a recommended way to send a photo that I am editing in DarkTable, to Nik Collection, and have it returned to DarkTable after those changes are made?

Plan “B” is to just export the images, and do this manually, but that seems rather crude.

I’m a novice at DarkTable - just got it going again, after a frustrating day trying to set things up properly. I’ve edited my first collection of 10 images, and want to enhance them with Nik, after which they would be returned to DarkTable. (I know I can import them into Lightroom, and do all this, but I’m trying to see if I can move from Lightroom to DarkTable.)

I signed up, ‘michaeljmyers’ and verified the account. Where would I find the Darktable plugin for Nik_Collection?

Or try my lua script ext_editor. You can define up to 9 external programs and do round trips with DT, even from inside darkroom, also using keyboard shortcuts

Thanks for the reply.

I wouldn’t have any idea where to even start.

I’ve only been using Darktable now for two days. :slight_smile:

Mike

michaeljessemyers@gmail.com

Here is the user guide section on lua: https://www.darktable.org/usermanual/en/lua_chapter.html#lua_sharing_scripts

@mikemyers “I wouldn’t have any idea where to even start.”
I’m with you on this one. I’ve no notion of what is needed to make this work either. Perhaps some of the Youtubers here could shed some light on this in an upcoming video. A while back there was a tutorial to integrate the Nik Collection into Gimp 2.9, but I failed to get it working despite the instructions in the video. But I digress… The point is some of us need to be guided through the process.

The two plugins are lua plugins, so you download them, link them in your luarc, and start darktable. Or you read the lua documentation that is also linked.

There is a nice README: