Iso values different in darktable from raw original

If this is a FAQ, please apologize. I am a newbie in DT.
I have got problems with some Nikon shots in darktable. The ISO-Compensation based on the camera model is still way too noisy.
I have that following example:

• DT Image info says ISO is 400, accordingly the Auto denoising profile used is Nikon ISO400
  • Makernote image info shows ISO 25600, ISO2 and ISO SETTING 400, ISO Expansion Hi2.0, ISO Expansion2 Off
  • Nikon NX Studio tells ISO 6400 (+2LW)
    Camera model is Nikon D610
    If I assume correctly, the shot was taken with ISO 25600 which is the expansion of native ISO 6400 in my camera. What I do not understand is why the image information only shows ISO 400.
    Is that a bug in DT, or where is my fault?
    Thanks for all comments!

Can you share a raw file? That would make it easier to diagnose. Do you remember what settings you used on the camera?

I don’t know anything about ISO expansion on Nikon, but I suspect it doesn’t do anything good for the noise.

2 Likes

i assume the noise reduction reads the exif ISO tag, not the maker notes or anything like that. you can always manually adjust, so…

Thanks Nis
I can’t remember the settings, except that this was Auto ISO.
20160724-Japan-Reise-0033.NEF (33.7 MB)
ISO expansion is a quite common thing in modern cameras as far as I learned…

Thanks Mica
It is possible that DT takes the ISO from EXIF though I could not see this anywhere. Nikon has a proprietary image format (NEF) without sidecars, by the way.

I just looked into extended/expanded ISO, and the conclusion is that you shouldn’t use it when shooting raw. You can probably do a better job yourself when editing.

1 Like

That’s just their raw format. Canon has CR2 and CR3. Raw files never come with sidecars from the camera - they come from editing software.

I saw the same article today. It was new to me. The sad thing is, I did not even know this from my camera.