Lens distortion correction: taking pictures of lines on a wall

I own a lens which has no lensfun profile (yet). I’m new to the calibration game so I read a bit and tried some things. My first try was a building with glass facade and the results with hugin are actually OK. I found out, however, that it seems to be crucial that one of the lines is very much at the top of the image. Therefore, some of the focal lengths result in a bit weird looking corrections…

But I thought, why do I need to go outside (it is also raining right now…) when I have a whiteboard. I painted some parallel lines on there and tried the same thing - but this time the acquired parameters made the images of the building facade look really weird. The lines were corrected very well though.
My gut feeling is, that the lines are not perfectly straight. However, I also have a printer :wink:

Thus the question is now: is it okay to do the shots for the distortion corrections using printed out paper, stuck on a wall? Is there any drawback when doing these kind of images using a small focus distance?
I only read that “they may not be 8m away”…
I understand that for the chromatic aberration you need the objects farther away.

1 Like

With vignetting correction you can take correction samples for every reported focus distance your lens gives you. For example 0.4m, 1m, 3m, 6m, 8m, 16m, 25m and infinity.

That doesn’t work for distortion or tca correction in Lensfun, and that is a drawback. Therefore you should take samples 10m away so that it works for most pictures you take.

But if you are a macro photographer, then you should create a distortion correction profile for a short distance.

A workaround would be to create two profiles with two different lens names you manually can choose between. Don’t know if it would be possible to create an automation of that in the lens correction module.

1 Like