Linux recommendation for new PC, RT & Gimp

hi, please could you suggest what flavour of Linux I could go for for a PC I’m going to build mainly for RT and Gimp. What I’m particularly interested in is the trade-off between flexibility/capability and the need to be techy. I programmed years ago, so am not hopeless tech-wise, but I don’t want to be spending lots of time with command line stuff. I’m more familiar with Windows; haven’t done much with Linux, but want to gradually move over to it (for everything). I have Ubuntu on a laptop and have used it for day-to-day browsing, plus I did once install RT, but I’m still a novice at Ubuntu. Having said all that, I accept I may need to invest in learning to compile RT and/or Gimp. But I read in Pixls the other day there are also self-contained Appimages, so that sounds good.

So back to the question… what flavour do you recommend for me please?

For the PC, I’m intending a decent processor (i5 or i7) plus one of those SSDs that plug straight into the PCI bus. I fancy i7 in which case I’m going to try the built-in graphics before buying a card. Does that sounds like a bad idea? (I’m not into gaming)

Thanks.

Nothing wrong with Ubuntu. In Ubuntu, you should add Darius Dumas PPA to your list of software repositories. To add the PPA use the instructions from the RawTherapee Blog:

http://rawtherapee.com/downloads

Use the “development version”, “rawtherapee-unstable”.

Once the PPA is added, it will install updates through the update notifier software. Trust me this will save you a lot of hassle trying to compile.

As far as the computer goes, the specs of mine are far less. I would suggest using 8GB of ram at a minimum.

Absolutely nothing wrong with Ubuntu, I agree. I fancy Ubuntu Mate, as the Mate desktop is lightweight and follows a very traditional desktop metaphor.