Looking for free video-editing software for screencast lectures

Hi folks,

I record, edit, and upload (to YouTube) about an hour’s worth of screencast lecture videos (PowerPoint slides with voice-over) every week for my students (I am a university professor in Biology). Every hour of recording takes about five hours to edit–a fairly common ratio I am told by folks in the recording biz. For me, this time is worth it because I actually really LIKE the fully asynchronous modality, and I was doing it well before the pandemic. I use most of my videos for a few years or longer, so I want to make them high quality and edit out all the breathing, throat-clearing sounds. Science marches on of course, so new, updated ones will need to be made every few years!

In any case, I am looking for something to replace Camtasia. I like the program’s capabilities, but it is often extremely buggy, unstable, and exasperating! Through my university, I have access to the full spectrum of Adobe CC software, including Premiere. I am just not sure I need anything that complex at this point. What I do is really pretty simple–edit out noises, splice/stich different segments, and deploy some annotations text boxes and the like. Also, I want to learn software that I can use for my own projects and will be able to use after I part ways with the university (Sweet early retirement in about ten years or so!!)

Any suggestions for a free program? Thanks!

Kdenlive is what I use when I have to edit video: Kdenlive | Libre Video Editor

1 Like

Thank you. This looks promising. I will dig into the documentation and forums soon.

• shotcut
  • olive
  • pitivi
  • blender

@prokoudine 's librearts site has a lot of good news about those tools as well.

1 Like

@Kadsura Hi fellow teacher! I have exactly the same experience as you, something like 1 hour of recording for 20 minutes of final video and 2-3 hours of editing (basic stuff, special effects need more time).

My setup is as follows: