Looking for ways to speed up my editing workflow

Hello everyone,

Post-processing my photos (import, triage, editing, grouping, staring, (geo-)tagging and export) regularly takes me a very long time on darktable (I would say around 35 hours for 250-300 finale pictures, so after triage), especially the editing part. It was the same rough estimate on previous similar softwares I used before (Lightroom and Aperture).

I like photography but I’m just a long-time hobbyist, not a professional so time is frequently hard to find among other activities and I’m wondering if I’m using this kind of software appropriately or if it’s just normal or due to my personal approach.

That’s why I’m interested in anything that could help me speed up my editing worflow.

Do you have good feedbacks/tips to share?
Do you personally spend less (or more!) time on post-processing your pictures?
Do you edit every single (not rejected) picture you take like me?
Do you spend more time on your best pictures? Or, on the contrary, more time on your (a priori) worst ones to save them or as a challenge?

Some remarks:

• I already try to do my best when shooting at first place (so there is less work to do afterwards).
  • I know there are some batch functions on darktable like profiles and presets. However, I find they don’t apply very nicely when pictures were not taken with the same exact conditions. I try as well to copy/paste some specific adjustments via lighttable when I can and still I’m not always satisfied and I need to micro-adjust them afterwards.
  • Globally I have the personal impression in my mind that each picture deserves a specific editing that cannot be obtained by batch processing. Am I over-meticulous? Is there a misconception here? A lack of knowledge regarding darktable advanced functionality?