LUG talk: darktable for beginners

I finally went to my local LUG meeting last night. Met some nice people. I was also talked into giving a presentation at next month’s meeting. I’ll be presenting darktable for beginners, where I’ll introduce the application, then edit a photo. I’ll have about an hour.

What do you think I should cover?

What gave you trouble in the beginning?

Any other suggestions welcome!

6 Likes

I’m still fairly new to DT and chose it after a lot of playing around with other software after deciding to move away from LR. I think the biggest hurdle for new users, and reflected by a lot of people in other photo discussion groups is DT can seem very overwhelming and complex, especially if the new user is new to post processing or has experience using much more basic or simple programs. I think it tends to scare off a lot of people. So emphasizing ease for beginners would be important. Simple approach to importing a folder, adding a few tags, then processing using only a few basic but effective modules followed by easy export might be appreciated.

Many tutorials either go through module by module, or they try to “wow” the person with stunning results but at the cost of great time and complexity. I think new users need to be able to create some good results fairly quickly to get them comfortable. As a new user, I would have loved a good presentation on the most basic edits to give decent results, then demonstrate the power of the more technical or complex modules to show the user they can continue to grow with the program over time to become more creative or get even better results.

Any chance your presentation could be filmed and posted?

5 Likes

Great opportunity, @paperdigits! @Bbawt’s suggestions are excellent.