Managing color noise with Haze Removal, Denoise module ignoring masks, bug?

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to Darktable and raw processing in general. I was testing it out on a challenging file today.

After using the Haze Removal module, I noticed excess colour noise, particularly in the centre of the image. Maybe I’m pushing this too hard or expecting too much from this module?

I intended on tackling this by using the Denoise Profiled module with wavelets and strength set to 1.

When I applied this, it seemed to mess around with the highlight reconstruction and color reconstruction on the sun. I tried applying the Denoise module with a parametric mask to exclude the brightest pixels, but for some reason, it seems to be ignoring this and applying the denoise to the whole image. I have also tried using a drawn mask to exclude the area with the sun to no avail.

Any help much appreciated!

Here is a screenshot with the denoise module disabled:

With the module enabled (look at the effect on the sun!):

Finally, here is the parametric mask, showing the sun is excluded from the module’s effect:

Any pointers, very much appreciated.

Here is a link to the raw and xmp if anyone can tell me what’s going on.

RAW: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iFP71t3NJ0BBqVaViduOhq6-QBvG2B8a/view?usp=sharing

XMP: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1D_q1O2dg6NP3ZCuy4CVd515l68Nao0gQ/view?usp=sharing

Go easy, I’m new to this!

Thanks,

Euan

PS: I’ve found this image particularly difficult to work on!

Hi Euan,

strange effect indeed. Looks as if masking doesn’t work for the raw-clipped regions of the image.

If you crank up the strength of denoising and watch a sharp border of the mask (set the sliders so there is no gradient) you can see that masking works for the unclipped parts of the image.

Greets
Jürgen

Thanks for your response Jürgen. This looks very much like a bug to me.

I’ll look into how to report this over the weekend.