Micro SD card size

I am running Little Black Box on a Raspberry Pi 3B+. Is there a performance benefit if using a 64 GB Micro SD card over a 16 GB Micro SD card?

The storage size doesnā€™t not effect the speed of the card. The speed rating of the card is printed on the card itself usually. Its a number between 1 and 10, with 10 being the fastest.

1 Like

Actually I was thinking more along the lines that if the program has to copy anything out to cacheā€¦how much does it have to copy out to cache? In that case size does matter because if it runs out of room it then has to wait.

I donā€™t think SD cards have a dedicated, hardware cache. The operating system will have some RAM cache, and perhaps the filesystem as well.

Hint: I am a newbie in hardware. I can think of a couple of factors that may affect speed and reliability.

1 Hardware is not made equal due to tolerances, manufacturing techniques, sourcing, etc. So you can have two ā€œidenticalā€ cards performing very different. One might even corrupt your data or have a short lifespan.

2 Donā€™t know if it applies to SD cards but I have read that smaller capacities can be faster for hard discs because the seek time, latency, etc., is less. There is less memory to sift through. But I doubt that 16 vs 64 will present notable differences. One way to find out: test your theories! But donā€™t wear them down!

Donā€™t know if it applies to SD cards but I have read that smaller capacities can be faster for hard discs because the seek time, latency, etc., is less.

About the opposite for SSDs. The bigger disks have more chips to spread the transfers over.

2 Likes

At least with silicon, the factory usually tests a product to meet certain minimum conditions reliably with some headroom. Then the product is sold as something meeting those conditions - sometimes merely with labeling, frequently the product has SOME sort of configuration data that allows it to be restricted to those operating conditions.