Modern Lens Cleaning?

Hi, all,

I still have something left in a very old bottle of Kodak’s Lens Cleaning Fluid, for which I paid the equivalent of about 90 US Cents a l-o-n-g time ago.

What’s considered the best lens cleaning method/fluids nowadays?

[When you buy glasses/spectables, you might get a small sample
of their special cleaning fluid as well. But I do not like those fluids
at all, because they often leave the surface terribly static :frowning:]

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

I’m very pleased with what VSGO offers.

I use their Camera & Lens Cleaning Solution Spray and Swabs set (V-C01-E) for my lenses and their Full Frame sensor Cleaning Kit (VS-S03-E) for my sensors.

Never had any issues with either. I have been using the sensor cleaning kit for almost 2 years now, I bought their lens cleaning kit a few months ago.

2 Likes

Personally, I buy Zeiss lens wipes, you can get them at an extremely reasonable price on Ebay.

2 Likes

Years ago I picked up a couple of bottles of Rexton Optyl 7. I’m just getting to the last of that now, but it’s always worked great for camera lenses and telescope eyepieces (even refractor objectives).

1 Like

Personally, and for the most part, I pay more attention to my lens-cleaning technique than I do any cleaning fluid (if I use any at all). I learned the hard way (many moons ago) that you can use the ‘best’ cleaning solution in the world, but it won’t stop you grinding bits of sand into your coatings. :slight_smile: I have a religious technique that’s always worked well for me and I stick with it.

Instead of fluid, I tend to use a bit of steam from some purified distilled (de-ionized) water — it’s cheap, has no impurities or chemicals, and works a treat — but I only use this if I really have to. I tend not to clean my lenses any more often than is required.

2 Likes