Modern mural, detail.

Nikon Z6 II 50mm f/8.0 1/350s ISO 100

Credit: Mural by Micha de Bie

I’ve been looking at this, rather large wall for a while now and finally saw a section that I think works. Hope you agree. I’m rather new at this urban thing so pointers are welcome.

This work by Jacques Dekker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

11 Likes

I like this! The colors are pleasing and the arrangement of the non brick features are pleasing.

I like this a lot. I think you’ve found a very nice composition there. I’m trying to find some pointers or suggestions but honestly I think you nailed it.

@paperdigits / @elstoc

The colours were the first thing that attracted me about this, and the enormity of it. This wall is about 100m wide and 6m tall (300x18 ft) and all of it covered in the same style of graffiti (is this graffiti?). I’ve been enjoying this mural ever since this ugly, dilapidated wall got revamped. Luckily, other graffiti artists leave it alone.

Finding a piece of this wall and balancing it and its structures in combination with the lines, arrows and colours took a considerable amount of time.

For those interested: This wall is part of the old, 1869, Koninklijke Nederlandsche Gist- en Spiritusfabriek (Royal Dutch Yeast and Methylated Spirit factory) to be found right here [OpenStreetMap].

EDIT: Spelling is hard. Thanks @elstoc!

graffiti. I think the generic term is “street art”.

1 Like

It has a nice maple leaf… :slight_smile:

I would not call this graffiti. It is street art and a mural :slight_smile:

2 Likes

What stands out to me is the periscope and porthole like vents which remind me of a submarine. The theme of a sub in a solid object is interesting to me.

You didn’t describe your vision, so these thoughts aren’t pointers per se.