Natron UI (Re-)Design Proposal

TL; DR
I’ve created a UI mockup for Natron on Codepen, based on Material Design guidelines. If there is enough interest, I will be willing to begin implementing it into Natron.

Full Explanation
I am a student who is learning graphic design, and I recently started using Natron. I was surprised by its functionality - it is almost as feature rich as After Effects - but I felt that the UI was difficult to navigate and to use.
Because of this, I began creating an HTML mockup of Natron on Codepen (link here). It is very much a work-in-progress, but I think that it is already easier to use and navigate than Natron’s current UI. Here is an image:

I am very new to the Natron community, but it seems to be a large and bustling community. I know that a complete UI redesign is far-fetched, but I would be willing to learn Qt and apply for GSoC if the community would support it. There are a few projects on Github that have implemented Material Design in Qt; I could use that as a starting point.
I hope the very best for Natron and its community. I would greatly appreciate any comments/suggestions about my design.

EDIT: I’ve created a GitHub repository for anyone who is interested in working on Natron’s UI. The link is here.

5 Likes

Hello & welcome! If you’re interested in UI/UX, there are so many projects around here that could use your help :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome to this community!

Very nice! Are you familiar with other node-based workflows? Have you had a look at DaVinci Resolve’s Fusion implementation (and its redesign)? Applying for GSoC would be great.

Apart from that…I would love to see this come to fruition!! (who would have guessed?!)

1 Like