[Newbie] Need some help putting together a workflow

Hey everyone. I finally took some photos as I am new to photography and editing said photos.

I need some help putting together a workflow sadly because my original workflow I wanted to use is not going to work.

My original intention was to fully switch to Linux and use RPD + Darktable. Using RPD to organize the files on the HDD and then use Darktable’s lightroom to cull and darkroom to edit. Due to various hardware issues Linux is not quite a option. I had the hardline network port die on my PC not the chip but the port itself and I need to now use a usb dongle for wireless internet and it seems the one I bought is not linux supported.

So now I am now on Windows and I still want to use darktable for the above purposes but I can’t seem to figure out a solid way to organize my photos on my HDD because RPD does not work on windows.

Any help/suggestions?

1 Like

If Linux was your main OS, don’t give up on it just yet. There should be a way to get that dongle working. If you don’t mind, could you tell us more about it; e.g., its make and product number?

The dongle is a Linksys AC1200 it is rtl8812AU chipset apparently. The kernel can recognize it but there is no driver in the kernel for it. Apparently there is a driver someone made for it however the challenge is getting the driver compiled to the kernel with no network. Also apparently there is issues with the adapter and gnomes network module where it can’t interact with it. I have never had to compile the kernel like this before and that would assume I can find a distro for a linux amateur that has build tools installed by default so I can attempt a kernel build after install.

So far no distro I have tried recognizes the dongle out of the box going to keep trying.