Notes on Astbury's `MyBase' video

Hi,

I’ve decided to start posting my RawTherapee notes online. I’m only a hair past absolute beginner, so I don’t have any personal expertise to offer. But maybe my efforts will help supplement the extraordinary work that @Andy_Astbury1 has done. Particularly, his videos are wonderful for a deep dive into a particular topic, but perhaps not so easy to skim through and pick up specific details.

Case in point, his Do this first! video provides a very thorough review of the seven options he recommends we apply by default. Having watched it once, I didn’t really want to view all 26 minutes again, but i don’t think there’s a written summary available anywhere (is there?). So I made one, and posted it on my website.

If I’ve misunderstood anything from Andy’s video, or you have any other suggestions, I’d be glad to hear them.

Thanks,

Tyler

13 Likes

I think your summary is well done, Andy went through the steps of making “mybase.pp3” in his first two RT tutorials but this video is a summary and expansion of that. I’ve benefited from his older videos and now I’ve changed my base profile to also:

1. Enable Lab adjustments, Contrast by Detail Level, Black and White, HSV Equalizer, Color Toning, Wavelet module and its Contrast, Chroma and Denoise and Refine tool. Local Adjustments, Post-resize Sharpening tool in Resize module (but not the Resize module itself).

2. Change the LH, CH, HH in L*a*b module, and the H, S and V curve (and also the Defringe curve if you only enabled the module but haven’t change the curve mode yet) to Equalizer.