Panasonic G9 and Darkable issues (White Balance, colours are off)

Hello everyone, first post here :slight_smile:

I am a keen DarkTable user, I have been using it for over 5 years. Recently, however, I bought a Panasonic G9 and ever since I struggled with DarkTable.

Firstly, images look very dark and I need to apply between 1 and 2 EV almost always to get to a decent starting point. I know this has been discussed countless times, and I donā€™t want to start another lengthy discussion about filmic, scene-referred workflow, etc. I can live with this issue.

However, when it comes to white balance and colour rendition, I really struggle to get decent pictures. Iā€™m going to show an example below.

DarkTable output

Unedited

This is how the picture comes after the standard pre-processing applied by default with the scene-referred workflow. Very dull, letā€™s fix exposure and black/white points with filmic now.

Tone adjustments, default white balance, colour calibration (invalid illuminant)

This was a quick edit where I only touched the exposure and filmic module. White balance and colour calibration were not touched. White balance was set to camera reference, whereas colour calibrationā€™s illuminant was invalid. This is probably why colours are so off, with a sort of magenta cast.

Itā€™s odd that DarkTable didnā€™t manage to get the right illuminant, but letā€™s fix that. Letā€™s set the illuminant to daylight

Tone adjustments, default white balance, colour calibration (daylight illuminant)

It looks a bit better now, but still not good in my opinion. Letā€™s now try to use the cameraā€™s white balances

Tone adjustments, white balance as shot, colour calibration (same as pipeline, D50)

(canā€™t upload more than 4 pictures since Iā€™m a new user, imagine a similar picture here :slight_smile: )