Perspective correction and cropping, DT 2.4.4 windows

I’m new to Darktable, and in the process of testing it out I have noticed the following problem:

When I use the excellent module “perspective correction” and choose “automatic fit , horizontal and vertical” with “automatic cropping off” the dimension of the viewing panel sometimes becomes the new “original image format” (if the image needs a lot of adjustment). In the “crop and rotate” module you are then not able to crop the image to the original aspect ratio unless you know what this is and the aspect ratio can be found in the drop down list.

In the “perspective correction” module you can choose to crop to “original format” and this works ok but the crop can’t be changed in any way (reduced in size and moved) and you are then stuck with a crop you don’t want.

Yes, that’s why I never crop with the perspective correction. I always crop on the “crop & rotate” module.

But isn’t it a bug that the perspective correction module changes the aspect ratio of the image if it is not cropped?
In my view the output of the module should always be an image in the original aspect ratio. Part of the image would then be “black” that is without any information from the original image. This image can then easily be cropped in the crop and rotate module maintaining or changing the aspect ratio. This is how RawTherapee works.

That’s not a bug! I see no bug. You have three options:

1. no crop - aspect ratio is kept but you have some black borders (unavoidable)
  2. crop with image aspect ration - obviously you get the image aspect ratio
  3. crop with larger border - obviously you don’t keep aspect ratio

So you want to always have the image aspect ratio, choose option 1 or 2.

I observe the following:

Original jpg image: 3264x2448, aspect ratio: 1.33
Exported from DT without persp. correction: 3264x2448, aspect ratio: 1.33
Exported form DT after persp. correction, automatic cropping off: 3778x2620, aspect ratio: 1.44