play raw: mask and darken sky

I would like to develop a nice Darktable workflow for masking and then darkening skies which are overexposed relative to the main content.

An example I find difficult is shown here. The composition is unremarkable, it was chosen to highlight the issue (the lens has some CA, and the leaves are difficult to separate). What would you use?

Just to emphasize, I am primarily looking for masking solutions, and then an exposure correction. I find the tone equalizer tricky to use in this context, but if you prefer that it is fine too.

P1005231.RW2.xmp (10.0 KB)
P1005231.RW2 (23.1 MB)

These files are licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

3 Likes

I’m no expert at this, but maybe it’s a little more dramatic. dt 4.6.1. I didn’t try to do a full edit, I just played with the tones in the sky, mostly with ColorBalanceRGB.

P1005231.RW2.xmp (8.6 KB)

1 Like

Thanks, but the artifacts around the leaves you get are exactly what I am trying to avoid.

1 Like

Would this be dark enough? It is a mask on exposure that did the trick. The other changes are only to improve the picture.

P1005231.RW2.xmp (14 KB)

1 Like

Thanks, but just to clarify: I am looking for solutions without artifacts.

I’m afraid you’re going to have a hard time; without any masking and exposure manipulation, the CA around the leaves is so strong, that with corrections it creates an effect which resembles ‘ringing’. At least I think it’s CA.
Uncorrected:

Corrected/tamed:

3 Likes

Very hard because of the high contrast between the sky and the leaves + strong CA at the interface
I tried to stick to your conditions and only used a masked exposure instance with a basic pipeline,
I think if I reduce the exposure further in the highlight too many artifacts start to appear

P1005231.RW2.xmp (15.9 KB)

1 Like

Again, masked exposure adjustment is precisely what I am after.

But I am interested in other approaches too!