[PlayRaw] Hawkcraig Pier

Up bright and early with my shiny new Canon 750D + Canon 10-18mm lens.

I had a play with some long exposure photography at sunrise, I think I should have waited until I got my adaptor rings for my ND grad filter holder in the post.

Anyway, I’ve uploaded a photo, it’ll be interesting to see what, if anything can be done with it…
This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike
(Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike1)

IMG_0080.CR2 (23.9 MB)

Ignore the exif time / date, as I forgot to change the camera time & date!

I’ve probably a lot to learn about the new camera, so probably not a great shot to start with. But it’ll be interesting to see what people make of it (if anything)

3 Likes

This is my first try: (darktable)

IMG_0080IMG_0080.CR2.xmp (4.0 KB)

3 Likes

IMG_0080
Darktable: IMG_3129.CR2.xmp (8.1 KB)

6 Likes

IMG_0080-bgimp
first pass in rt IMG_0080.CR2.pp3 (11.0 KB)

second pass in rt IMG_0080-b.pp3 (10.8 KB)

and hsv noise in gimp

2 Likes

RT IMG_0080.CR2.pp3 (10.5 KB)
IMG_0080

4 Likes

Rawtherapee:

IMG_0080

1 Like

Darktable IMG_0080.CR2.xmp (11.4 KB)

2 Likes

Nice shot!
@Tobias I like your crop

Here’s my take in the newly rediscovered photoflow:
IMG_0080

Added some local contrast in the stones and the water, lifted the front, gradient on the sky, finally some saturation adjustments, et voila…

Nice image @Brian_Innes .Will like to see your interpretation too! Here is mine.
IMG_0080.jpg.out.pp3 (12.7 KB)
Then put frame using G’MIC and darkened the sky a bit using Multiply blend mode with layer mask, and a bit of levels - all in GIMP.
IMG_0080GIMP

1 Like

Thanks everyone for their processing attempts on the image. At first when I viewed raw file, I thought it was only fit for the bin! Having said that, looking closely at the raw file it seems that the focus is rather soft. Not sure much can be done about that in post processing though.