[PlayRaw]Sunset Tofino, Victoria Island CA

Hi All,
I’m new to photography (as you will probably notice looking at the pictures) and new to this forum. My first post coming up…

I would like to know how one would start the process (preferably with RawTherapee; it is the only program I have installed on my machine at this moment)

On Holiday in Tofino, Victoria Island, Canada. I shot these photos within a ten minute time frame during sunset.
This is what I came home with. I was a bit disappointed with the result, but hey, I’ll do better next time. (I need to remember that landscapes need smaller apertures than what I took here (f11) :slight_smile: since it all seems all to me a bit blurry.)

How would one start getting the best out of these pictures ? I would like to know what one should do to make it better.
I’m not thinking that my pictures are going to be used anywhere else outside this Forum, but since patdavid asks (and yes I have read some guidelines while joining up with the help of discobot :slight_smile: );
Both pictures are posted under the Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike
(Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike)

DSC_1947.NEF (18.7 MB). The sky was the trigger to take this picture. After taking this picture i just looked at the sky for a long time.
DSC_1938.NEF (19.9 MB). I took a nice picture with my back to the sun and turned into the sun to take this one in the hope to have some contrast with the ocean an the trees masking the sunset.

For those who are going to give their thoughts “thank you !”.
And if you are thinking about processing both pictures (and not only one), I wont hold you back.

Your input will make me want to continue sticking my nose into Photo processing. I’m working on one picture myself but it is hard for a newbie to stick with it. Your results will keep my spirits up and keep me aiming for the sky.

Regards

4 Likes

Hi Els!