please don't kill "global tone mapping"

Hi there

sorry, my english is very bad (google translator)

First of all, thank you very much for your great work when it comes to developing darktable.

i have been working with darktable for about 6 years (as an alternative to lightroom) and i am of the opinion that darktable is much better than the “competition” in many areas.

now i see that some modules are considered obsolete and are being replaced due to pipeline problems. (I’ve never had any problems with “global tone mapping” :wink:)

however, for me one of the most important modules for editing lights, shadows and colors is the “global tone mapping” module.
with no other module (not even “toneEQ” or “filmic” or “local contrast” etc.) i can edit lights and shadows and preserve the structures or work out how it is possible with “global tone mapping”.
especially when it comes to local adjustments (masks).
I can also use “global tone mapping” with the “filmic” algorithm and the “soft light” transition to make the images / colors shine very easily.

Filmic and ToneEQ are great modules, but they quickly lose the “structure” in the picture or you cannot work this out. “Local Contrast” does not have the capabilities of global “tone mapping”

or to put it simply: without “global tone mapping” I am missing a very important and special tool in my color box.

please don’t kill this module.

hallo
verzeihung, mein englisch ist sehr schlech (google translator)
erst einmal vielen dank für die großartige arbeit wenn es um die entwicklung von darktable geht.
ich arbeite seit etwa 6 jahren mit darktable (als alternative zu lightroom) und ich bin der meinung,
dass darktable in vielen bereichen sehr viel besser ist als die “konkurenz”. nun sehe ich, dass einige module als veraltet gelten und ersetzt werden, da diese probleme bezüglich der pipeline haben. (ich habe mit “global tonemapping” noch nie irgend welche probleme gehabt :wink: )