Please try to save this overexposed image in Darktable

I wanted to delete this image for good, but figured it would be nice way for you to show me how powerful DT is in saving clipped highlights and recovering the detail.

I’m still new in DT and would like to see from the experienced people how good it can be for this task. Because my success in saving the detail just wasn’t good, looked artificial, while RT produced so much better result that could actually be used.

Please use DT only. Thanks.

_V3A0302.CR2 (40.8 MB)

License: Creative commons

1 Like

Can you add a license please?

There isn’t much you can do when +/- 33% of the image is clipped…

_V3A0302_01.CR2.xmp (10.1 KB)

I think one should forget the surroundings and focus solely on the two females:

_V3A0302.CR2.xmp (11.1 KB)

I have to admit that I did not spend a lot of time on this one.

Both are done with (a hybrid) darktable 3.1.0

I did decide to spend a bit more time on the sky and pool for this one. Also means that the overall look is more that of a overcast, sombre day. Sky is very problematic to “fix” though… Anyway, this was done with a “normal” darktable 3.1.0:

_V3A0302.CR2.xmp (14.3 KB)

3 Likes

@Jade_NL

Thank you very much Jade! Well that’s exactly the problem I faced before - floor bricks were just irreparable in DT! It looked like it was extracting detail from JPG and not RAW.
RT on the other hand, did wonderfully both the floor and a bit of the sky.

I prefer the sky on the first two images you did. It’s kind of bluish, while on the third image it looks stormy! :slight_smile: I also like how you focused on the people on the 2nd image!

How did you get DT 3.1? I have 3.0.2. The difference in recovered parts is HUGE on DT 3.1 and on par with current RT.

Update: my DT 3.0.2 hangs when I try to load your xmp, probably due to 3.1 ver.

_V3A0302.CR2.xmp (9.9 KB)

1 Like

Very nice contrast and colours, thanks. Punchy. I like it a lot!