Portfolio Website

Hi,

I was planning to make my own website to show my portfolio one day. I already did it once and used WP and installed a theme. I got fed up with the theme but wasn’t skilled enough and hadn’t enough time to change it the way I wanted. So I want to make a simple website to show my portfolio with keeping the ability of fairly easily altering it. Maybe something like this
I have some experiences in programming and I am willing to read some stuff before starting but I have absolutely no idea where to start and what’s the best way to go. I’ve heard about bootstrap, drupal, drupal+bootstrap (???), hugo,… So it would be very helpful if someone with experience could point me a way to go.

cheers wapitifass

Drupal is a lot like WordPress, so if you were not happy with WordPress, hard to imagine you’d like drupal.

Hugo is a static site generator. We use it a lot and like it. Read some of their docs, find a nice theme and go for it.

2 Likes

Sigal is fairly simple and should do the job. Drupal is definitely overkill.

2 Likes

There are also flat file CMS such as Grav. I think it is possible to add static pages to Piwigo and Zenphoto, too.

I put together my own with python flask and a couple of jquery plugins (self-hosted). I drop my images into a folder on my PC and my website automatically picks them up and creates thumbnails and 1080p versions of the images with imagemagick.

1 Like

OK, thanks alot for your hell.

@paperdigits Hugo looks interesting. So I can look for a Themen which comes close to my needs and alter it the way I want? Is it possible to choose a main-theme and a different one for a sub-portfolio section or even combine it with one subpage which I write myself? Propably this is possible but also for a non pro like me?

Sigal looks like it’s only a gallery if I get it right?!

And the Grav CMS looks interesting too. I’ll habe a look at the available themes.