Prague street at night

Hey, I am fairly new to photography (my first camera).

I managed to snap this photo while commuting home in the evening. I tried to do some basic adjustments in darktable, but I am not really comfortable with its workflow yet.

I would be thankful for any input.

DSC_0655.NEF (17.8 MB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

13 Likes

Welcome to the forum and photography. Here is a quick edit from me. I changed to color to match the temperature. BTW, I recommend for new users to in the processing preferences change the scene referred workflow to Sigmoid instead of filmic. Sigmoid is easier to master for a newbie and is my preferred option anyway. Just personal opinion so I know others may disagree and their opinions would be equally valid.
DSC_0655.NEF.xmp (12.1 KB)

10 Likes

DSC_0655.NEF.xmp (17.7 KB)

I’m leaning into the colour contrast on this one. Those street lights aren’t that pleasant no matter what you do.

I think you’ve got a decent rendering of the image there and a lot of the scope for improvement lies in things you could do in camera.

You’ve definitely made the right decision to crop those signs out in my opinion, but that’s something you want to try and catch when you’re pressing the shutter button. Just gives you more useful space to work with later. Likewise a quick lean to the right to bring the person crossing the road out from behind the bike in the foreground.

7 Likes

Hi Martin, and welcome!

Nice shot too.
Adjusting the white balance in color calibration was interesting - the cast of those streetlights is quite extreme, but I ended up with a result I liked.
I use the sigmoid workflow (as @Terry mentioned above) purely out of personal preference.
FWIW, my workflow generally goes something like:

Exposure
Sigmoid contrast
Color calibration for white balance.
Crop/straighten if needed.
Color grading in color balance rgb
Denoise
Sharpen using a preset in diffuse and sharpen.