Processing Profiles for landscapes, portraits, astro, seascapes, etc.

I’ve been watching tutorial videos and it’s said that what works for one type of photo doesn’t necessarily work for another type of photo. Would it be a good idea to have Processing Profiles for common types of photos? I’m not very good at editing so would find it useful if there were some profiles for RawTherapee to use as a starting point.

I watch Andy Astbury’s RT tutorial and he said that one workflow for a image doesn’t necessarily apply to another image. I think that’s because different images has different kind of noises, exposure, etc. But generally you can custom a profile to make your life easier, no matter what kind of images you’re processing, like you can enable Lab Adjustments, HSV Equalizer, Noise Reduction by default; change the curve’s type to your favorite one; change default demosaicing algorithm to RCD to speed up processing a little bit, and so on. That kind of profile can be of help for most kind of images, I think.

Have a look at the documentation Creating processing profiles for general use - RawPedia

I think there’s merit to the idea, but I’m not finding a way to do it without creating a large collection of such profiles, and spending more time figuring out which one to use…

I shoot (mostly) underexposed, letting my camera’s highlight-weighted matrix metering do it’s thing. Doing this, I almost never blow highlights; when I do, it’s usually light sources or clouds and the librtprocess highlight recovery routine works quite well to fill in the blotches wtih some detail. But as a result, most of my exposures require some lifting of shadows, and it varies from scene-to-scene. I recently shot a wedding for a friend of my daughter, 600 images from three cameras, and I had to spend a few hours going through each batch of shots from given scenes. I’ve become quite adept with my wonky filmic’s four parameters, getting the right amount of toe, slope, and rolloff.