Pull - commit - code trial

Hi,

I did fork gmic-community on github, (is it the way?)

screenshot_20210805-103100

never use github and i’m no programmer

I did change some code on tom_keil.gmic (un-commented code) , so which one should I use (see screenshot)

Also while I’m here, I would like to try some very simple things, like
echo “hello world”;
count the number of transparent pixel in an image, and or in a channel for example count the number of pixel where “G” second value (145) is >= 100 of RGBA(12, 145, 234, 0)

is there a “reference” doc with example like php.net about the extremely basics?

thanks for reading

A easier way to fork is to edit file from dtachump/gmic-community.

As for your questions pertaining to gmic language.

For first one:

hello_world:
echo “hello world!”

For second one:

rep_count_number_of_transparent_pixel:
check $!==1
sh[0] {s#0-1}
eval. i?i(#-2,0,0,0,0)++;
u {i(#-2,0,0,0,0)}
rm[-2,-1]

Didn’t eval use to print the last output? Why does that not happen anymore? Would be easier. Also, this command could use + for latest gmic (I still have to update).

FInally, I use this from time to time: https://gmic.eu/reference

First of all thanks a lot! I very much appreciated.

without debug on preview checked

without debug on preview checked

Both codes with debug on preview checked

many questions to try to understand the “grammar” behind your code
When you write

are you declaring a variable, a class, a function,…?

This

check $!==1

I saw that $! is the current number of images in the list. But still don’t understand if $ alone is an image in the reference below

what does “check” do exactly, is it mandatory? is it something like if($!==1){ more code } alike?

What are those numbers?

and then I got lost, I saw that [0] is the first image, not sure, but why sh (shared)?

I would really appreciate if you can comment each line of your code