Python questions

Me: :melting_face:

I have lines of text. I want to remove duplicate words per line. Help. Thanks!

My mind is melting, mind you I am not good at remembering Python.
Python 3 would be nice. Not a real python please.

Example?

I’m gonna try to solve this problem. Is this for G’MIC scripting? I have some python files that can help.

Also, I found your solution via googling since I’m bad at python:

def unique_list(text_str):
    l = text_str.split()
    temp = []
    for x in l:
        if x not in temp:
            temp.append(x)
    return ' '.join(temp)

lines_of_text="""My mind is melting, mind you I am not good at remembering Python.
Python 3 would be nice. Not a real python please."""

lines=lines_of_text.splitlines()
new_lines=[]
for line_index in lines:
    print(unique_list(line_index))

This gives:

My mind is melting, you I am not good at remembering Python.

Sure, this could eventually be in G’MIC. How about making it case insensitive? I would use lower() but that would affect the sentence case.

The simple solution: you could have two arrays, one lower case, the other unchanged, and use pretty much the same algorithm, using the lower-cased version for the search.

Case insensitive solution here.

def unique_list(text_str):
    lower_case=text_str.lower()
    lower_case=lower_case.split()
    l = text_str.split()
    temp = []
    new_lines=[]
    for n in range(len(l)):
        x = lower_case[n]
        t = l[n]
        if x not in temp:
            temp.append(x)
            new_lines.append(t)
    return ' '.join(new_lines)

lines_of_text="""My mind is melting, Mind you I am not good at remembering Python.

lines=lines_of_text.splitlines()
new_lines=[]
for line_index in lines:
    print(unique_list(line_index))

Output:

My mind is melting, you I am not good at remembering Python.
Python 3 would be nice. Not a real please.

If you keep two lists, better make temp a set, the performance will be better.