question about how to red-shift images - simulating high velocity

I’m trying to ‘red shift’ images, to simulate what an object would look like if it were moving away from a camera at a sizable fraction of the speed of light.

So, for example if everything were red-shifted by 100nm (this would vary with speed), 400nm moves to 500nm (violet becomes cyan / green), 600nm move to 700nm (orange becomes red) and 700nm moves to 800nm (red becomes infrared, i.e., is no longer visible).

Knowing what to do and knowing how to do it aren’t the same - and I haven’t a clue as to where to start with GIMP. It can’t be just dragging RGB curves around.

Once this is figured out I can ‘red shift’ photographs to different simulated velocities. Practical? I’m sure a scientist somewhere has a use for it. Fun, interesting? Absolutely.

So - any takers?

Hi! I’m no expert whatsoever on this, but my suggestion would be the Hue slider - I’ve forgotten which dialog this is in - think it might be with saturation. Thinking aloud, maybe that wouldn’t be right though. I think Hue would move red back round to blue. Not right. Hopefully someone else will have a better idea!

You can do something close probably using simple color curves. Just keep in mind a little bit about how they work:

I talk about it a little bit here:
https://patdavid.net/2012/06/getting-around-in-gimp-color-curves/

Perhaps some combination of the RGB channels might be a good start?

Experimenting with an RGB spectrum, the Hue slider ( colours / Hue-Chroma / Hue ) can certainly turn Violet into Green… but then Red becomes Blue and Yellow goes to Light Blue. Thanks for the idea - worth a try!

Pat! Pleasure to meet you - I’ve enjoyed your Gimp tutorials over the years. The wavelet decomposition tutorial revolutionized my ability to produce realistic portrait results that more mature women like, aka will pay for.