Rapid Photo Downloader window to large for monitor [Solved]

I’m new to using Rapid Photo Downloader. It is running on an Ubuntu 18.04 derivative, Peppermint 10. The desktop manager is LXDE if I remember correctly. Also if memory serves the window manager is based on XFCE.

I was working in Rapid Photo Downloader and the window suddenly snapped to a size wider than my monitor screen. I have no idea if I did something to cause the problem.

I can change the height of the window and I can change the panels within the window by dragging the dividers but can not get the window to fit the monitor again. The minimize button works but the maximize button only brings me back to the overly wide window. The window menu offers the ability to resize the window but again I can only control the height.

I’ve been exploring the Window manager controls and have found nothing to help there. alt+Shift+F7 brings up the window controls menu which allows me resize only the height. Alt+f8 takes me to the resize from the lower right corner and once again has no effect on the window width.

Other programs seem to be working well and fit the monitor as usual. While it doesn’t rule out a problem with the window manager it is odd that it only effects Rapid Photo Downloader. I’m asking on the Peppermint forum as well to see if it is a Window Manager or desktop issue.

I shut down all the windows and rebooted the computer to see if there was any effect and there is no change.

Any idea why the window size would suddenly change and freeze this way?
How do I regain control? I don’t remember this happening before with any other application windows.

Any suggestions?

It might be the interaction between QT, hi-dpi, and GTK2 (lxde). Do you know if X11/lxde is doing any scaling?

It’s difficult to say without more information.

What version of the program are you using? From a terminal run:
rapid-photo-downloader --detailed-version

What is your screen resolution?