Raw Therapee Noise Reduction

I have been trying to get a handle on noise reduction in RT. I have processed the following image as good as I can. I wonder if I can get the noise down any more.

I followed along in the Rawpedia (RT Documentation) in the section on noise reduction. I still do not know the difference between luminance and chrominance noise. I basically move sliders around (while reading the manual) until I like the result.

Could I have done better with this picture? How?
Camera: Canon G7X Mark 2.

Raw file and processing profile here: https://filebin.net/9e0o85ox1ecml0ot

Hi @Stampede,

I’m not an expert, so forgive my sloppy terminology, but you can think of chrominance noise as the “coloured stains” that you see when opening an underexposed image without any noise reducion. Luminance noise is essentially the “grain” that you see also when looking at a black-and-white picture.

that’s perfectly fine, I think :slight_smile:

Better is subjective, but here are couple of things I would do with your picture, FWIW:

• use a dual-illuminant dcp profile for your camera. I generated one from dpreview’s studio scene (see this thread)
  • turn off “auto CA correction” in the raw tab. Unfortunately in my experience this setting has a negative effect in colour, which is especially visible in underexposed/high iso shots
  • use “colour propagation” for highlight reconstruction instead of blend, as it seems to work better here.

I also made a couple more tweaks to the noise reduction settings, because I don’t mind a bit of grain, but I don’t think this is that important.

Here is my result, just in case.

2 Likes

Had a quick go at it.

Depending on what you want to achieve is what will measure the final processed version. Are you trying to go for as little noise as possible, or recovering of colour contrast definition?

IMG_0300.jpg.out.pp3 (10.8 KB)