RawTherapee 5 Support

As a teacher I have thought that I could ask my class to use RawTherapee 5 in place of the costly Adobe products that work well but are pricey. For some things, like correcting white balance, RT is great. Unfortunately I have not been able to find any support documents that provide a cogent explanation for many of the numerous controls/options that RT provides. I don’t consider myself a novice with photo editing. I edit using Gimp, Lightroom, Photoshop and I have used earlier versions of RT but in spite of a number of hours spent experimenting with RT tools most of them remain a mystery.

I am saddened by this but I can’t ask my class to use software that I can’t explain.

Just to be clear I have read the RT supplied documentation, I have viewed numerous on line tutorial videos, and I have searched for RT books. Each time I start thinking each would answer my needs, but each time I run into an obstacle where the explanation is not adequate. Adobe support products aren’t perfect but I have always be able to find answers that I need.

1 Like

Which tools do you find to be problematic?

If you wanted to describe the type of approach you’d be interested in teaching, there’s a few of us who’d be happy to help elaborate on the tool (or at least make sure to find an answer for you).

There are many different tools, and they each have their use. The problem is that not all of the tools may be needed, while others may be indispensable. (I’m assuming you’ve seen the Getting Started section of Rawpedia).

On the plus side, there’s a community of folks here who are happy to help! Maybe you could outline an approach or lesson plan where we can identify what types of topics need to be addressed, and we can enumerate the possible methods for approaching them effectively (along with more details on the technical aspects of the tool as well, if needed).