RawTherapee - Strange color cast with Nikon Z6 NEF file

Hi to all,

I’m really new to RawTherapee.
I’m developing some of my files in order to practicing with RT and understand all the module.

I have developed a Nikon Z6 file and I’m looking a strange green cast in some sky areas near green leafs instead of the sky color.

I use the AMAZE demosaicing algorithm; I’m trying others with the same result.
The input color profile used is Camera Standard; the working profile and output profile is ProPhoto.

I’ve opened the same file in Camera Raw and also in Darktable (in this case with the same demosaicing algorithm) but there is no green cast in the sky.

What can be the problem?

Thanks in advance,

Francesco

Have you enabled Raw chromatic abberration correction? This seems like an artifact of that.

Hi, thank you for your reply.
Yes, it is enabled in automatic mode.

Forgot to report that the RT version is the latest stable.

Best Regards,

Francesco

grafik

Thank you.

Done, nothing changed.

Best Regards,

Francesco

Can you provide the NEF? Then we can try to find the culprit.

Sure, attached.

Thank you.

Francesco
_DSC4092.NEF (32.2 MB)

Thanks for the NEF. I can not reproduce the color cast in current dev version of RT. Looks like it’s already fixed. Can you also provide the .pp3 file please?

Hello,

thank you for the feedback.
Attached you find the .pp3.

Best Regard,

Francesco
_DSC4092.NEF.pp3 (12.2 KB)

Thanks for the .pp3. Looks like an issue with noise reduction. At least disabling noise reduction gets rid of the color cast.

1 Like

Yes, noise reduction is way to aggressive (mode + chrominance master). The avoid colour shift also plays a roll, albeit small.

One other thing: Why did you choose for this specific output profile? You might consider setting it to RTv4_sRGB as default.

1 Like