Red monster -- proper exposure?

Since I do not want to hi-jack the original Red monster thread,
I start a new one.

Oh yes, I do understand @Soupy’s dilemma.
I have a simple red rose outside the bedroom that
simply refuses to cooperate.

What would be the best approach to expose such objects properly?

Sincerely,
Claes in Lund, Sweden

I’m not at all sure that this is an exposure issue.

I think that a reasonably good modern digital camera is able to capture this without much problems. The status of the hardware we use to show images in their full glory seem to be out of reach (technically and/or financially).

The best monitors that I know of are 10 bits wide gamut. I’m not technically proficient enough in this area but I do believe that not even that is enough to correctly display all the info that a (very) good modern digital camera can produce.

I do hope somebody proves me wrong and points me to a, somewhat, affordable monitor that can handle modern RAWs in all its lustre.

It was already exposed perfectly. Observe the raw histogram, which I showed in my post.

Screenshot_20210318_081016

The problem is that the camera histogram is utterly useless for evaluating overexposure on things that are not white or green.

I generally assume that with daylight white balance, a solid red subject has two stops of headroom, at least with my Canon cameras.

3 Likes

Yes as the others have suggested, it is not an exposure issue. Here is a screenshot of three wave forms. Left: raw, no demosaic, everything else off. Middle: raw+wb (d65), no demosaic, everything else off. Right: raw+wb (d65), vng4 demosaic, everything else off.

red-monster-waveform