removing background pattern from old photo

hello, I am trying to restore the attached old photo, it has a very prominent dot background pattern. I have tried wavelet decompose however the pattern seems to be attached to each layer. Does anyone have any suggestions? Much appreciated, Lee.

henry street quirindi011.tif (54.6 MB)

A simple blur works quite well:

magick "henry street quirindi011.tif" -blur 0x3 b.jpg

Or downsampling would also work.

thank you, i have taught myself gimp over the last few months, so i’m a bit new to the terminology, what do you mean by downsampling? also, did you just apply a blur to the whole image, without decomposing each layer? Thank you heaps for helping

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

Reducing the information in an image such as scaling it to a smaller size.

Yes, that is what his command does.

Decomposition to various detail scales is definitely useful for recovering or touching up images.

great thank you for your clarification

Hi @Lee1 and welcome!

That’s not a photo :-), it is a scan of a printed image.
That raster || screen comes from the printing
process. There are several methods available to
descreen an image. Since you use The Gimp,
go to Filters|G’MIC-Qt and search for descreen.
There you will find two valuable plug-ins to assist you.

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

oh thank you so much, i’ll give it a try. I have been trying the fourier transform filter today with not much success.

As @afre and @Claes say.

The printed image was made by offset lithography or similar process that reduced the original photo to black (ink) or white (no ink, so the paper white). The metal plate for the ink was probably prepared from a “lith screen” photographic film. So the printed image has no shades of gray, in theory.