Removing extreme red colour cast from an image

Hi all

I’m still very new to darktable. I have a few wildlife photos that were shot under red torchlight on my recent trip to Tasmania. I’m looking for advice on how to correct this to get a more natural colour, similar to the results in this video:

Attached is one of the images I’d like to edit (Eastern Quoll).

Many thanks for your help in advance!

Shot in Raw with Olympus EM1 Mk2. I have darktable 3.6.0 running on Windows. I also have Gimp v 2.1.24, but I’m even less familiar with that programme as I’ve been more accustomed to using Adobe photoshop CS3 (which no longer works on my laptop).

JO
P3010763.ORF (18.8 MB)

First thing to do is probably to upgrade, the latest is 4.2.1!

OK I have done that, thanks!

Hmm I’ve upgraded but now my images are showing up a bit pixelated and the slide show function is hanging. What do I need to do to fix this please?

The hang may be cause by OpenCL. Try disabling it in preferences, under processing.

There’s almost no information in any but the red channel. I don’t think it’s possible to colour-balance this image.
Look at the white balance RGB multipliers when I modified them by hand to get a greyish image:

1 Like

Thanks in preferences the three settings relating to Open CL are greyed out and say “not available”

So it’s not OpenCL. You may try closing darktable, and renaming darktablerc to darktablerc.old to start with a clean setup.
How much memory does your machine have?

It’s got 16GB OK I tried renaming that file, but I’ve still got the same issue.

Even if it might be possible, you’re going to have a problem where the red and green channels are so severely underexposed that you’re going to have some noise problems.

It looked like the video in question did the following:
Basically treated the red channel as a luminance channel, dropping the green/blue channels because, as you point out, they’re pretty much useless.