Rockies on cloudy sky

Hi! I would like to test the capability of Darktable and Rawtherapee on this image I took on the Canadian Rockies. I’m interested especially in the possibility of darken sky and keep the snow as white as possible, but I’m also curious on how many ways of working this image could be possible with these software.
Thank you all!
IMG_4836.CR2 (17.0 MB)

This work is licensed under CC BY 4.0 [image][image]

1 Like

nice pic

quick edit on laptop. DT 3,6

Rockies on cloudy sky_IMG_4836.CR2.xmp (13.6 KB)

3 Likes

Great Pic! Here’s I’m focusing more on the rockies.

IMG_4836.CR2.xmp (42.3 KB)
dt 3.7

Thanks for sharing!

2 Likes

Cool pic! I’ve been struggling to find nice ways to dehaze with darktable, it turned out that the tone equalizer worked really well here

dt 3.6

IMG_4836_02.CR2.xmp (91.0 KB)

1 Like

IMG_4836.CR2.xmp (17.0 KB)

4 Likes

I’m relatively new to Darktable, what are the effects of the parametric masks you use with local contrast? Does it soften the weight of the contrast? Very interesting. You use many modules that I didn’t even know exist! The one for burnt pixel is in your default setting or did you notice some fried light? In general I understand that I must train masks. They are much more versatipe than I thought!

Great view!
My try is a bit overprocessed because I tried to emphasize the cloud structure.
RT 5.8 dev

IMG_4836_RT-4.jpg.out.pp3 (18.8 KB)

2 Likes

IMG_4836.jpg.out.pp3 (15.4 KB)
Nice photo, makes me want to travel. RawTherapee-dev edition (Haze Removal, less cyan and purple, more red yellow and orange, sunlight on trees with Luminance-by-Hue in L*a*b, geometry adjustment).

4 Likes

I’m editing with the sunlight direct to my eyes…
not perfect.

Edit with Darktable 3.6

IMG_4836.CR2.xmp (10.2 KB)