Saved image different to preview (caused by Noise Reduction)

Hi everybody,

first of all sorry for my english.
I’m new to this amazing software and photography in general, so I apologise if my question
is stupid.

In general after adjusting and processing the raw file with RT i use a viewer to see the output jpegs.
The viewer I use is IrfanView.

I noticed that if I zoom the image 100% in the viewer and I compare it with the image at 1:1 scale in RT, the image in the viewer is less sharp than the one in RT and is also less detailed.(the details seem to be more blurred)

What is the reason for that?

Thank you

Hi!

A screenshot of your problem would be helpful. Like this:

Hi Jacal,

this is the picture…

I know the original image is not very good, but you can still notice the difference. On the left side IrfanView , on the right side RawTherapee

I don’t think IrfanView is the culprit here, but I would, to exclude it, try to open the jpg also with some other image viewer.

What settings did you use to export the jpg? Try with quality 95 or more, without subsampling.

I can see the problem on your screenshot, but does mine look OK to your possibly sharper eyes?

@Ivan_M76 please share the raw file and the PP3 using https://filebin.net/

Quick guess: either your JPEG compression is too strong, or noise reduction causes the difference.

Maybe working color space and output color space are different?

I render jpeg with 100% Quality and subsampling best Quality…the example that you posted looks ok to me

Hi Hiram,
the camera shoots in AdobeRGB color space and for the output i use RT_sRGB. I also try to change these settings but the difference form the viewer and RT is still visible. I tried also with another viewer (XnViewer)…same story

Please attach the pp3 file you used to process your file

Hi morgan,

here you are…

https://filebin.net/4owu04fqrbrywxde

you will find the raw file, the pp3 file and the output jpeg… thank you!

Hi Heckflosse,