scene-referred modules for working with HDR images

Following advice in various topics here, I figured out a convenient workflow for creating HDR images from RAW (just lens & CA correction, export to 32-bit TIFF using linear Rec2020, then Hugin’s align_image_stack -l *.tiff -o output.hdr, import that).

But I am still learning how to then work with these using the scene-referred workflow — most HDR tutorials I found address display-referred.

I realize that a lot of choices are artistic and subjective, but suggestions about what others find useful would be appreciated.

What I currently use in Darktable 3.6:

• filmic for some initial adjustments, but only a modicum of dynamic range compression,
  • local contrast: has a local tone mapping for HDR which is a great starting point,
  • tone equalizer
  • color balance rgb, especially perceptual brilliance (add to shadows, take from highlights)

You’re on the right track. In general, the scene-referred workflow in darktable has been designed to address high dynamic range.

To balance brightnesses of certain regions, I also find several exposure module instances with drawn mask to be helpful. Tone equalizer also works pretty nicely in many cases.

And yes, color balance rgb is great for fine-tuning after the more coarse adjustments.

1 Like

The whole point of scene-referred is to remove the difference between HDR and SDR. Both should work the same, using the same modules, it’s only in filmic that your input DR (scene white and black relative exposures) will be larger than usual. Everything else should behave just the same.

Art is in the settings, the tools are far from artistic and subjective.

Is it possible to have a larger EV range in tone equalizer (for sliders and the curve)? -8 to 0 EV does not always cover the HDR range I have in my images.