Seeking Help with Darktable for Color Grading RAW/TIFF to Mirror JPEG Quality

Hello Darktable Community, I’m struggling to get my RAW/TIFF edits to have that ‘JPEG pop’ that comes straight out of my camera (Nikon Z9, shooting in RAW + JPEG). I’ve tried tweaking exposure and contrast rates, but can’t seem to bridge the gap. I’m fairly new to RAW processing in general, are there any good guides, good practices, or even modules in Darktable that might be able to help me achieve this?

I’m using Darktable 4.6.0 on an M3 Pro MBP with the latest OS, etc, if that helps. Happy to add more details (no pun intended) if it would help, just let me know what’s missing!

1 Like

Hi and welcome!

Probably easiest if you post some examples, raw files, and sidecar files, and/or tell us what you’re doing.

Post an example so we can try and demonstrate our ideas. However, I find that if you use filmic for the tone mapping you get dull colors. This is intentional and you use the color balance RGB module to get the pop in the colors. There are presets in the color balance module to achieve this.

But I prefer to use sigmoid instead of filmic as my default tone mapper. The colors look better straight out of the box.

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

20240101_0031.NEF (50.7 MB)

Happy to! I didn’t want to start hucking megabytes of attachments if they weren’t warranted, ha ha. I’ve attached three things:

• a screenshot of the embedded JPEG in the RAW file - this is what it would be great to be able to get ‘close’ to
  • a screenshot of the RAW file once Darktable loads it up in Darkroom
  • the RAW file itself

You need to provide a creative common license to this file.

You need to process the image after loading into darktable. It wont give you automatic processing by default. Check the manual process section: darktable 4.6 user manual - process