Shooting with Print in Mind

Whenever I try to compile images for a printed purpose (calendar, photo book, magazine, …) I often struggle to find suitable photographs for given layouts. E.g. for book covers where I want to wrap the cover image around to cover the back side as well, I hardly find many suitable photographs for that purpose in a given context (e.g. a suitable photo from that holiday the book is for). Especially, I tend to not shoot enough “b roll” for that purpose, and I often do not leave enough room around the subject to allow such crops. How are you dealing with this issue? Do you have that in mind while shooting? Do you use layouts that are flexible regarding the picture choice? Are you heavily manipulating the photographs to make them fit your layouts, e.g. by adding additional sky on the top if needed (or by other methods)?

I have limited experience with this but can still think through the problem with you.

I think it depends on the purpose of the photo and the purpose of the physical publication. What is the main objective of the photography and photographer? E.g., are you taking city photos for fun or as a tourist and then deciding that it would be nice to include in a book on architecture? Or did you want to make a book on architecture and are taking photos to complement the text or theme? Is it somewhere in between?

These questions will inform your framing as you make your photos.

Another thought that came to me are stock photos. They are compelling, though possibly generic and lifeless, because you can crop and fit them pretty much anywhere, be it digital or print. What makes them different from other photos? Part of it is that they aren’t so busy or have too much going for them at once. E.g. it may have lots of people but they are probably doing the same thing or part of the same interaction.