Shortcuts and interface of GIMP to look like Photoshop?

I am very familiar with the interface and shortcuts of PS, and somehow, I feel a little bit slow with the default GIMP interface and also, I sometimes press PS shortcuts not remembering I am using GIMP and then suddenly destroying my work which took hours.

Are there any specific tutorials to this or presets setting thingy for this?
I feel a bit uncomfortable with the default GIMP interface, that’s why I was asking this.

Is there a preset already made in GIMP?

A quick internet search(!!) comes up with, among other things:

2 Likes

erm pretty sure ctrl + z still works in photoshop :slight_smile:

EDIT: acutally i have the same problem — long time photoshop user and it take so long to get used to gimp. i did like it a lot more when i had to learn it though (when i no longer had photoshop) but now i have a CC subscription again i get temporarily confused switching betwene the two. guess it’s just setting up gimp to be enough like photoshop in look and shortcut keys.

1 Like

I assume you know that while working on cage transform, if I press a key, then it removes all the customizations done. :wink:

It’s the problem of every person who switched from PS to Gimp, or working on both programs at same time.

Overall, I run hundreds of apps at the same time, so it’s hard to even remember that I was doing something with gimp, rather than remembering the shortcuts.

1 Like

The PhotoGimp package is quite a sizeable installation.

This is just the shortcuts file(s) for Gimp 2.10

Photoshop 2018+ Bindings for Gimp 2.10.20 by migf1 on DeviantArt (zipped 400 kB)

1 Like

Did you know? You can CHOOSE your own shortcuts with Gimp, even replace these you dont like in PS!

1 Like

I’m the other way. Got so sick of mistakes I installed Gimp at work, a liability for projects where others need to touch the files but hey. The solutions @rich2005 and @alex666 mention are the simple and good ones.