sigma clipping confusion

Hi everyone
I’m using a canon 700d.
The stack using sigma clipping 5-2 has much less noise than the default 4-3.
Could anyone give me an (easy if possible) explanation as to what the numbers mean?
The 4-3 leaves almost impossible to process background blotches.
TIA,
Steve
histogram stretches for comparison

I’m not entirely sure which numbers you are referring to but I guess you are referring to sigmaMin/sigmaMax. With those numbers you define the ‘cut off point’ at which a pixel is considered an outlier in standard deviations and will not be used for stacking.

If you want the details:

1 Like

Hi and thanks for your reply.
Yes, they are the values which are entered as outlined below. Unfortunately i’m not a coder at anything like this level.
i was looking for an explanation of what the numbers do to an image. e.g. what do i lose by stacking 5-2 rather than the default 4-3. (There seems nothing obvious visually)
TIA,
Steve

If you make these values bigger you will exclude fewer outliers. With 5 sigma you will likely just turn it into a straight average unless you deal with a humongous stack or a sensor with an extremely skewed distribution.

So if you for instance have a plane flying across your frame or satellite passing through etc. that might not be removed and leave a visible ‘ghost’. For deeper imaging/longer focal length turbulence might also be a factor but I have little experience with that.

I don’t have hard data regarding this but I only use outlier rejection when I have an actual reason to (the planes and satellites mentioned above, a fly flying in front of the lens or something among those lines), if the shots are clean, I see little reason not to use all the ancient photons you captured in the final result.

2 Likes

could you try to stack without sigma clipping? So let SiriL average all the pixels and see if the result are better or worse. By the way, what a fantastic M13’s portrait :slight_smile: