Soft proofing with darktable

I’m new to image processing (been using darktable for less than a year), and I’m trying to figure out how to soft proof my images for printing. The printing service I would like to use offers their ICC profiles and recommends that, when using Photoshop or lightroom, rendering intent should be set to relative colormetric. However, I don’t see an equivalent option in darktable soft proof mode. Am I missing something? Can’t we select the rendering intent?
If I simply select the ICC profile when soft proofing, all images loose a lot of contrast and saturation, which I can’t recover (simply increasing saturation or contrast produces really strange results). I couldn’t figure out yet what I’m doing wrong.

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I would really appreciate some help.

Thanks!

Have you used the search facilities in this forum?

darktable soft proofing

As far as I know darktables internal rendering method doesn’t support intent, but you could use littlecms for that, although I’m quite happy with the darktable internal one. I could imagine that your monitor calibration is off or not switched on for darktable…

https://www.darktable.org/usermanual/en/color_management.html

1 Like

Yes, but nothing particularly helpful about it so far.

It is probably off, since I do not have a colorimeter for calibrating it. The white point is set to 5000K and Gamma to 2.2. Do you know if there is some way to achieve a reasonable (and just reasonable) calibration of the monitor without a colorimeter (using a Macbook)? I’m just confused about the great difference I’m seeing between the edited images and the soft proof.